Don’t ban the gun

I look through my scope

my target is in sight

Stock is in my shoulder 

don’t hold the rifle tight

Control my bodies breathing 

Trigger ready to pull 

The silencer makes a crack 

My bullet hits the bull

Third time in the centre

But then they always are

I can hit it when I’m walking 

Or when I’m passing in the car.

Shooting is my passion 

One day it could be real

I just hope that when I kill them 

It will only be a meal

Guns are not a danger

It’s the hands that hold the gun

Just like those who go out drinking 

And think driving home is fun.

Alcohol’s a killer 

But the government let it be

Because it brings in revenue 

They take it out on me!

So don’t believe the propaganda 

That they say about our boys

Guns are not the killers

It’s the booze and all the noise

Dave Begley ©️ 2019

Published by Dave-Begley-Poet

I am a poet with a rare terminal illness called multicentric Castlemans Disease. Poetry breaks me away from the pain for a time. It takes me out of this world into my fantasy world full of funny thoughts and a never ending conversation with myself. I like haiku and I’ve made quotes. Words are a joy. I like to try poetry and think I get by. I don’t expect to become famous but if I can give someone a smile or a good feeling for just a moment, then I feel it was worth it.

Leave a comment